High Five for Friday

Five For Friday 4.25

It’s Friday, praise God.

The weekend is here! Alas,

It will end too soon.


 

A little Friday haiku for you on this most longed for of days. Another work week down and another weekend is here! I have many friends who are celebrating the end of classes and are counting down the days till summer vacation—weren’t those the days? I think homework, tests, papers and classes might have been worth it for the 3 months of nothingness that was summer vacation, but that’s just me. Anyway, since it’s Friday I’m linking up with some other blogs for Five for Friday! This week, I’m focusing on the blessings in my life and the things I’m grateful for.

  1. Josh and I have had the pleasure of farm sitting again(this and this happened last time)! The last time we were here, we had lots of excitement with an ice storm, downed trees, disappearing chickens and Josh’s tango with a possum. This time around, it’s been much more peaceful, thankfully. It’s been nice to have some time to ourselves in a beautiful setting with great weather!Farm sunrise
  2. Last Saturday we attended the wedding of two of our dear friends! It was absolutely beautiful and the couple looked fantastic! You could really see their love for each other and the love their families had for them. It’s always such a great blessing to be able to share in the special moments in the lives of the people we care about most. Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Byron Pilkington!2014-04-19 18.17.43
  3. Last Friday was the 5th birthday of someone incredibly close to my heart—my sweet nephew Kolten! I remember almost every detail about the day Josh and I met him and we have been incredibly blessed to see him grow into the rough-and-tumble, yet incredibly cuddly little boy that he is today! Happy Birthday Kolten!!2014-04-15 20.02.31
  4. We had our annual Ward-Family (that’s my side) Easter celebration on Sunday. Every year my mom hides Easter eggs all over her house and surrounding yard for the kids (Josh, my sister, her boyfriend, and I) to hunt down for honor, glory and a monetary prize. It’s fun for us, but I definitely think my mom might be slightly more into it than we are—but I love doing this kind of stuff for her and it’s fun! Another Easter tradition we have is the making and decoration of the Easter Bunny cake. We did this for years as kids and recently brought it back. I’m so happy that we’re back home and can celebrate these holidays with our family! Here are some past bunny cakes–clearly we’ve gotten sloppy in our old age.
  5. I got some news this week about something I was really excited about not working out. While I’m disappointed that things didn’t go how I wanted them to, I’m thankful for the reminder of the blessings that I have in my life right now. I think this might have been God’s way of reminding me to be happy with what I have and to not take it for granted, or long for a life that just isn’t in His plan for me. I’m going to try and stay focused on my blessings, rather than the things I wished were different.

–Mrs. Dominico

For more Five for Friday check out Erica Jacquline (Listed Friday) and The Good Life blog!

Remember to like The Unfinished Mrs on Facebook, follow on Twitter and on Bloglovin